How To Play The Major and Minor Pentatonic Scale

How To Play The Major and Minor Pentatonic Scale

The Minor Pentatonic and Major Pentatonic scale are by far the most common scale or mode used in all genres of music and are most popular in Rock and Blues based music.
The mode is derived from the Major scale or the Natural Minor scale also know as a Heptatonic scale which uses seven notes. The Pentatonic scale uses five notes per octave and is known as a Major Pentatonic or a Minor Pentatonic mode/scale.


C D E F G A B = C major scale, notes highlighted are C major Pentatonic scale

A B C D E F G = A minor scale, notes highlighted are A minor Pentatonic scale

In the video below I will show you the Major Pentatonic and Minor Pentatonic scale in a organized pattern that will enable you to find this scale anywhere on the guitar.

I divided these patterns into five groups and labeled the fingerings 1-5. There is also a written grid for all of the fingerings below too.

As usual keep on playing and enjoy.

Looking for Private Online Guitar Lessons or Private Online Music Lessons? See why we are second to none here at Skype A Lesson.

Video Below

How To Play The Major and Minor Pentatonic Scale Video

Major Pentatonic Scale and Minor Pentatonic Scale

100% Free!

First Online Private Lesson
No Credit Card or Obligation Necessary

Learn More

Book Your Free Online Lesson